A Couple of Quick Questions

Started by Bobbythekid21, February 05, 2019, 05:04:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bobbythekid21

Ok, so I'm fairly new to the NSM forums/ arranging music in general, and I have a couple of questions:

I want to start helping arrange old and new songs that I don't see here on NSM, so all I have to do is arrange it with proper formatting and stuff and submit it in the "submissions" forum? (it just sounds too simple to be true)

Also, it seems that I have to use a program called Finale to do so, is this correct? I can't seem to find any guidelines for creating sheet music other than the "Formatting Guidelines" post under "Submissions". And if so, is Finale free?

Also, (this is a serious question, it probably seems stupid though) how is this website even legal? (or is it?) I honestly don't know anything about copyright laws but this just doesn't seem right to me. (Feel free to call me stupid on this one)

Thanks a bunch to whoever can answer these questions.
333,331 is a prime number.
Spoiler
Quote from: Bobbythekid21 on February 24, 2019, 01:03:24 PM
Well, I'll just stick around for now and be helpful.
I'm gonna hold myself to it by constantly reminding myself of it.
[close]

Dudeman

Quote from: Bobbythekid21 on February 05, 2019, 05:04:09 PMI want to start helping arrange old and new songs that I don't see here on NSM, so all I have to do is arrange it with proper formatting and stuff and submit it in the "submissions" forum? (it just sounds too simple to be true)
That's really all there is to it! Sounds like you already found the Formatting Guidelines, so make sure you follow those while trying to get your sheet as accurate as possible. If you need any assistance or critiques, you can make your own thread in the Piano Arrangements board to post your arrangements as you complete them, and the Discord server is always open if you'd like some real-time feedback.