News:

NinSheetMusic is the LARGEST video game sheet music archive on the entire internet worldwide!

Main Menu

SlimyWyvern's Arrangements

Started by SlimyWyvern, June 19, 2019, 11:19:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SlimyWyvern

And now for my first arrangement:

Fire Emblem: The Blazing Blade
"Going My Way": PDF MIDI mus

I'm very new to arranging so any feedback and tips for improvement would be greatly appreciated.

Libera

Ahhh Blazing Blade.  That was the game I started with when I started arranging as well, it's a really good choice for getting the hang of things I think (also the music's really good as well.)  I've been meaning to arrange this track myself for ages but I never got round to it, and now I don't have to! :P

For better or for worse, that means that I've gone through this arrangement pretty in-depth so prepare for feedback:

First things first, let's get the notes out of the way:
-Right hand is great, although personally in bar 8 I think I'd drop the lower notes and just leave it as a single melodic line throughout.  It keeps it consistent with the rest of the sheet and I don't feel like the melody needs the extra weight of the octaves particularly. 
All of the rest of the note comments are about the left hand.
-Bar 7 I think the first dyad is E - B (rather than E - G#) and the second is Cn - G (rather than Cn -En).
-Bars 13, 15 and 17 I'm hearing the dyads as G# - D# (rather than Bn  - D#).
-Similarly in bars 14, 16 and 18 I'm hearing the Cns as Ans.
-In bars 14 and 18 the low Cn I'm hearing as a low Bn.
-In bar 16 I think there's an En on the second note as well as on the fifth.
-In bar 19 I think the low Cn is an En.  Also once again I'm hearing the Bn and Cn in the chords as G# and An respectively.
-The top notes in the left hand (2,4,6,8) I'm not convinced on.  I think I can hear the bass being doubled and also a G# -> Gn -> F# -> Fn movement.

Now that's out of the way I can talk about interesting stuff instead.