News:

Don't forget to submit your daily replacement!

Main Menu

Butterfly Repeats and Jumps

Started by Brawler4Ever, June 01, 2015, 08:07:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brawler4Ever

Okay, so I'm revising my arrangement of Dance Dance Revolution's Butterfly, and I'm having some trouble with the repeats. I can get most of them to work, but whenever I find a solution to one problem, it creates an entirely different problem.

here is the sheet.
reference: (song starts at 0:33)

Every repeat works as intended in Notepad. However, I have very little experience working with Segnos and Codas, and other jumps of that nature. That's why I need help. Most of everything that I need has been accomplished with Musescore, except one. I want to put a repeat at the end of measure 16 (the end of the chorus) that goes back to the beginning of measure 5 at the end of its second iteration. I was able to do this with "D.S. Al Coda" and a Segno sign  with a repeat bar while in Musescore. However, when this was done, it accidentally ignored the repeat bar at the end of measure 12 on the left side during the second iteration; it would still repeat normally from the right (jumping from 16 to 13, as it should). But, it would not repeat measures 9-12, as it is supposed to, normally.

When I converted to Notepad, the Segno and jump didn't work at all (even though it showed the correct sign and everything), but the rest of the song did. I have no idea why.

The link provided works as it should; every repeat acts normally, with the exception of the jump for which I am looking. In short, the song should go like this:
1) play 1-8 once
2) play 9-12 twice
3) play 13-16 twice
4) jump back to 5, then play until 8
5) repeat steps 2 and 3
6) play 17-20
7) play 17-21, ignoring 20

Is that so difficult?  ::)